Subscribe to the Flag Theory Newsletter to receive internationalization, business-driven structuring intelligence directly to your inbox
passports.io website
residencies.io website
Bank Accounts website
Flag Theory website

波多黎各

​波多黎各可能是美国公民将其繁重的全球纳税义务合法降低至最小化并仍能保留其美国公民身份的最好选择。

波多黎各虽属美国,但其拥有自己的税务系统,并且波多黎各居民无需缴纳联邦税。

究其原因是因为美国税法第933节将从波多黎各所得收入排除在美国税收之外。

因此,到波多黎各居住,美国公民将能够在一个更加有利的税收环境中经营业务或管理其国际投资。

若您为投资者并搬迁至波多黎各,那么根据第22号法案,您将有可能在某些特定的利息、股息收入和资本收益中享受零税率福利。只有在您成为波多黎各居民之后进行的投资所得的收入和利润才有资格享受这种零税率福利。

居民身份确立之前累计的收入和利润,若尚未纳税,则有可能需缴纳正常的10%的资本利得税。对于10年后但在2035年底之前出售的投资,税率将降至5%。

若您从事股票交易,风险投资,或加密货币投资等,那么您将有可能完全无需纳税。

如果你是一个以服务为主的在线业务的企业家,那么根据第20号法案,您可以搬迁至波多黎各并在波多黎各注册公司,您的合格的出口服务收入需缴纳税率为4%的企业所得税,或者当合格的企业总收入的90%以上来源于出口服务时,则需缴纳3%的企业所得税。

因此,您可以在波多黎各设立自己的国际业务,您只需按波多黎各的标准税率缴纳个人所得税,支付4%的企业所得税及享受零税率股息。

这些税务优势对于加密货币和区块链的企业家和投资者具有格外的吸引力。

鉴于其在全球范围内的适用性,一些知名的加密货币公司正搬迁至该岛,这将有可能使波多黎各成为区块链中心。波多黎各政府已表示有意吸引这个行业,并已就此事建立了咨询委员会。

要求


您必须成为波多黎各真正的居民才能达到免税标准。这意味着您每年应在波多黎各居住超过183天,完成美国国税局表格的填写,例如第8898号表格,并向波多黎各经济发展和商业部长(Secretary of Economic Development and Commerce of Puerto Rico)申请免税法令。

免税法令将提供税务事宜的各项细节,并且应被视为您作为个人投资者居民与波多黎各政府之间的合同。一旦您的免税法令得到批准,那么您可享受免税福利至2035年。

但最关键的一点是,您必须搬迁至波多黎各,并且是永久搬迁。您的实际居所必须是波多黎各。

另外,搬迁至波多黎各可能并非一个坏主意。您可以享受全年平均气温为28° C的热带气候和微小的季节变化,以及美丽的海滩、壮观的山峰和美食。

此外,波多黎各有大规模的外来侨民和美国社区,因此,您将不会有太多的语言障碍。

受限制国籍


无官方受限制国籍

双重国籍


{{该国}}承认双重国籍。您无需放弃之前的国籍来获得 {{该国}}国籍

波多黎各是美国的未并入领土,没有自己的公民身份和护照。美国承认双重国籍,因此您无需放弃原国籍而获得美国国籍。


所需文件


  • 双重国籍
  • 家庭成员包括在内
  • 土地所有权
  • 要求实际居住
  • 要求个人亲自考察
  • 要求具备语言技能
  • 要求面试
  • 单人投资 -
  • 家庭投资(4名家庭成员) -
  • 最低年收入 -
  • 入籍所需时间
  • 永久居住权申请时间
  • 免签国
  • 可融资

国家详情

波多黎各
USD
1787
San Juan *
North America *
English * Spanish *
3916632
波多黎各联邦是一个具有自治地位的美国领土。 它位于美洲,在加勒比的东北面,多米尼加共和国的东面以及维尔京群岛的西面。 其西海岸位于佛罗里达州海岸东南约1536公里处。 波多黎各群岛包括波多黎各主岛以及一些较小的海湾和岛屿,其中最大的是莫纳,别克斯岛和库莱布拉岛。 其拥有360万居住人口,首府为圣胡安。 官方语言为西班语和英语。官方货币为美元。

尽管国土面积狭小,并且可开发的自然资源有限,但波多黎各却拥有格外高的生产力,是拉丁美洲人均收入最高的国家。

波多黎各85%的食品和所有的能源依靠进口。没有煤炭、天然气和石油储备。制造业是该岛最大的经济部门,几乎占据其GDP的一半。主要行业为制药,纺织,石化和电器。旅游业是其另一个主要经济来源,每年约有500万名游客。金融部门是对其经济具有极大优势的经济体,它融入了美国的金融体系,受其管理,隶属于纽约联邦储备银行(Federal Reserve Bank of New York)管辖。

免签旅游

使用从 Puerto Rico获得的新护照,您可以免签进入,国家
>

税收

根据波多黎各第22和138号法案,即所谓的个人投资者法案,居民的被动收入,如股息,利息和资本收益将有可能免税。

因此,通过将您的投资或公司搬迁至波多黎各,您的投资收入将有可能免地方税,并且如果您的投资收入非美国大陆所得,那么您将有可能无需缴纳美国联邦个人所得税。

要获得免税资格,您必须在过去的6年之中未在波多黎各居住,并成为波多黎各真正的居民。这意味着您每年应在波多黎各居住超过183天,完成美国国税局表格的填写,例如第8898号表格,并向波多黎各经济发展和商业部长(Secretary of Economic Development and Commerce of Puerto Rico)申请免税法令。

免税法令将提供税务事宜的各项细节,并且应被视为您作为个人投资者居民与波多黎各政府之间的合同。

一旦您的免税法令得到批准,那么您可享受免税福利至2035年。

此外,若您为一个以服务为主的在线业务的企业家,那么您可迁移至波多黎各并在波多黎各注册。

根据波多黎各第20号法案,您的合格的出口服务收入需缴纳税率为4%的企业所得税,或者当合格的企业总收入的90%以上来源于出口服务时,则需缴纳3%的企业所得税。根据第20号法案确立的标准,这些服务被视为战略服务。

波多黎各目前已对第20号法案进行了修订,废除了公司需拥有5名职员来达到该税制标准的要求。

因此,您可以在波多黎各设立您的国际业务,缴纳4%的企业所得税并享受股息免税。

  • 财产税
  • 转让税
  • 遗产税
  • 净资产税
  • 受控外国公司(CFC)法
  • 纳税居留天数 183
  • 个人所得税税率 33%
  • 资本利得税税率 0%
  • 投资收入税税率 0%
  • 属地原则税法

流程

Flag Theory | Passports.IO 和我们在波多黎各的资深会计将处理所有文件,并指导您通过每个程序,尽可能保证快速,高效,便捷地完成各种手续。

首先,我们的注册会计师将评估您的财务和税务状况,以便在您搬到波多黎各之后就您的纳税义务给予建议。

我们会给您发申请表并协助您完成美国国税局(IRS)表格的填写,例如第8898号表格,以及波多黎各经济发展和商业部长(Secretary of Economic Development and Commerce of Puerto Rico)的免税法令申请书的填写。

整个流程用时为1-2个月。

Consultation with *

Flag Theory is an internationalization and offshore solutions provider, and the creator of residencies.io

In order to better serve you, we ask that you please fill out the following form as accurately as you can and provide as many details as possible. Thank you. *

Your privacy is important for us and we will keep your information secure. View our privacy policy *

Newsletter *

Flag Theory is an internationalization and offshore solutions provider, and the creator of residencies.io. We offer expert consultation advice and assistance.

Your privacy is important for us and we will keep your information secure. View our privacy policy *

View past newsletters *

Puerto Rico

Tax Residency (Act 20 & Act 22)

​Puerto Rico may be the best way for Americans to legally minimize a heavy worldwide tax obligation while maintaining US citizenship.

Although it is a territory of the United States, Puerto Rico has its own tax system and its residents are not subject to federal taxes.

This is because Section 933 of the US Tax Code excludes Puerto Rico-source income from the US tax.

By moving to Puerto Rico Americans can run their business or manage their international investments in a much more favorable tax climate.

If you are an investor and you move to Puerto Rico, under Act 22, you may enjoy a zero tax rate on certain interest, dividends and capital gains income. This zero tax rate applies only to income and profits derived from investments made after becoming a resident.

Income and profits accrued before the residency was established, but that have not yet been taxed, may be subject to the normal 10% capital gains tax. For investments sold after 10 years, but before the end of 2035, the tax rate drops to 5%.

​If you are a stock trader, venture capitalist, cryptocurrency investor, etc. you may eliminate taxes completely.

​If you are an entrepreneur with a service-oriented online business, under Act 20, you may move to and incorporate in Puerto Rico and pay a 4% corporate tax rate on qualifying export services income or a 3% CIT when more than 90% of the eligible business’s gross income is derived from export services.

​So you may set up your international business in Puerto Rico, pay yourself some salary taxed at Puerto Rico’s standard income tax rate, pay 4% corporate income tax and get the dividends tax-free.

These tax advantages are especially attractive for crypto and blockchain entrepreneurs and investors.

​Given its global scope, several renowned crypto companies are moving to the island, which may become a blockchain hub. The government of Puerto Rico has already expressed its intention to attract this industry and has already created an advisory council on this matter.

Requirements


To qualify for the exemptions, you must become a bona-fide resident of Puerto Rico. This implies residing on the island for more than 183 days per year, filling out IRS forms, such as form 8898 and applying for a tax exemption decree from the Secretary of Economic Development and Commerce of Puerto Rico.

​The tax exemption decree will provide details of the tax treatment and shall be considered a contract between you, as a Resident Individual Investor, and the Puerto Rican government. Once granted, the tax-exemption will be valid until 2035.

​But the most important fact is that you really have to move there. It must be seen as a permanent movement. Your physical residence must be Puerto Rico.

​Also, it may not be a bad idea to move to Puerto Rico. You will enjoy a tropical climate with average temperatures of 28 ° C throughout the year with very little seasonal change, beautiful beaches, majestic mountains and good food.

​In addition there is a large expatriate and American community, so you can move without too many language barriers.

Restricted Nationalities


No nationality is officially restricted

dual citizenship


Dual citizenship is recognized in Puerto Rico. You are not required to renounce your previous nationality to become a citizen of Puerto Rico.

Puerto Rico is an unincorporated territory of the United States and does not have its own citizenship and passport. Dual citizenship is recognized in the United States. You are not required to renounce your previous nationality to become a citizen of United States.


Documents Required


  • dual citizenship Yes
  • Family members included Yes
  • land ownership Yes
  • Physical residence required Yes
  • Personal visit required Yes
  • Language skills required No
  • Interview required No
  • Investment Single -
  • Investment Family 4 -
  • Minimum annual income -
  • Time to citizenship
  • Time to permanent residency
  • Visa-free countries
  • Financing available No

Country details

Puerto Rico
USD
1787
San Juan
North America
English Spanish
3916632
The Commonwealth of Puerto Rico, is an unincorporated US territory with self-governing status. It is located in America, northeast of the Caribbean, east of the Dominican Republic and west of the Virgin Islands. Its west coast is located approximately 1536 kilometers southeast of the coast of Florida. The archipelago of Puerto Rico includes the main island of Puerto Rico and a number of smaller cays and islands, of which the largest are Mona, Vieques and Culebra. It is populated by 3.6 million inhabitants and its capital is San Juan. Its official languages are Spanish and English. Its official currency is the US Dollar.

Despite its small size and limited availability of natural resources that can be exploited economically, Puerto Rico’s productivity is exceptionally high, with the highest nominal per capita income in Latin America.

Puerto Rico imports 85% of the food it consumes and all energy. It does not have any coal, natural gas, nor oil reserves. Manufacturing is the largest economic sector of the island, almost half of its GDP. Its major industries are the pharmaceutical, textiles, petrochemicals, and electronics. Tourism is another of its main sources of wealth, with about 5 million tourists visiting the country annually. The financial sector is an economic bloc of great preponderance for its economy, which is integrated to the American financial system, being governed under its regulations, being part of the jurisdiction of the Federal Reserve Bank of New York.

Visa Free Travel

With your new passport from Puerto Rico you'll be able to access , countries visa free
>

Taxes

In accordance with the Puerto Rico’s Acts 22 and 138, the so-called Individual Investors Act, residents may be eligible for a tax-exemption on their passive income such as dividends, interests and capital gains.

So, by moving your investments or your company to Puerto Rico, investment income may be exempt from local taxes, and if it is not sourced from the mainland U.S, it may not be subject to US Federal personal income taxes.

To qualify for the exemptions, you must not have resided in Puerto Rico in the previous 6 years and become a bona-fide resident of Puerto Rico. This implies residing in the island for more than 183 days per year, filling out IRS forms, such as form 8898 and applying for a tax exemption decree from the Secretary of Economic Development and Commerce of Puerto Rico.

The tax exemption decree will provide details of the tax treatment and shall be considered a contract between you, as Resident Individual Investor, and the Puerto Rico government.

Once granted, the tax-exemption will be valid until 2035.

In addition, if you are an entrepreneur with a service-oriented online business, you may move and incorporate to Puerto Rico.

Puerto Rico’s Act 20, provides a 4% corporate tax rate on qualifying export services income or 3% CIT when more than 90% of the eligible business’s gross income is derived from export services and such services are considered strategic services, according to the criteria established in Act No. 20.

Puerto Rico has recently amended Act 20, waiving the 5 employees requirement for businesses to qualify for this tax regime.

So you can set up your international business in Puerto Rico pay 4% corporate income tax and get the dividends tax-free.

  • Property tax Yes
  • Transfer tax No
  • Inheritance tax No
  • Net worth tax No
  • CFC law No
  • Tax residency days 183
  • Personal income tax rate 33%
  • Capital Gains tax rate 0%
  • Investment income tax rate 0%
  • Territorial taxation Yes

Procedures

Flag Theory | Passports.IO and our qualified accountant in Puerto Rico, will handle all paperwork, and guide you through each step of the process to ensure that it is as fast, efficient and pain free as possible.

First, our CPAs will assess your financial and tax situation, to advise on your tax obligations after moving to Puerto Rico.

We will send you the application forms and provide assistance to complete the IRS forms, such as form 8898 and to fill the application for a tax exemption decree from the Secretary of Economic Development and Commerce of Puerto Rico.

The whole process takes within 1-2 months

Any time there is a change or new citizenship or residency by investment program, we'll send you an update via email. Your email will not be shared.